C7 Z06 Discussion General Z06 Corvette Discussion, LT4 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: GEM Motorsports

Drag radials on street question

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2020, 12:13 AM
lordofwar
Melting Slicks

Received 546 Likes on 378 Posts

Default Drag radials on street question

I read that running drag radials on the street is great for traction.my question is are they reliable with front stock tires?is it safe to run them all the time,how does it affect handling?input from guys who do this would be helpful.thinking of getting a set,don't track the car,but have fun with it in the summer.how are they on expressway at high speed.
Old 02-20-2020, 10:12 AM
Tray333
Instructor

Received 65 Likes on 46 Posts

I am not an expert but, but I have ran Mickey Thompson ET streets on 18 inch reproduction on back, and tried toyo 888r's and nitto's invo on stock front 19 wheels on my 2018 a8 z06. I was told that running the stock run flats with drag radial may be sketchy. Something about the sidewall flex on drag radials was a lot more than run flats, which causes the car not to track in line properly, or corner. To be honest I never, pushed it hard in a corner to find out. I daily drive my car with this set up around town and I like it. I prefer to switch back to my cup 2's for triple digit driving ( On highway) or road track, for that razor sharp turns the cup 2 are know for, all other combos I have tried felt squashy and lose with drag radial. The front nitto's felt bouncy with 30 psi, at 25psi seemed to be their sweet spot. The toyo 888r in front is noisy but at triple digits seemed better and 32 psi.. Drag radial do not like rain!!! As far as going 1320 feet drag radials are the best for those street legal cars, of course I am bias because of my current rwhp is almost 4 digits., and nothing really hooks up for me on a dig on public streets without warming them up. I am in the process of the 15 i