C7 Z06 Discussion General Z06 Corvette Discussion, LT4 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: GEM Motorsports

My 1st MPG test

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2015, 09:38 AM
bradgto
Racer

Received 63 Likes on 38 Posts

Default My 1st MPG test

I live in Cincinnati Ohio. My wife has been working in Atlanta for almost 2 years for work. So we do lots of "super" commuting.

This post might be longer than it needs to be so if you aren't concerned about mpg then this might be a thread to skip. I am not really concerned about it but if gives me something to try and log while im driving 7 hours. This thing does way better on gas than my 2000 F250 for sure.

I am a mechanical engineer that does research and development for a local conveyor company. So data logging and testing is something I has become part of me, and this test is flawed some because of some of the unknowns and lack of data.

the known data.
miles about 450 highway miles. mixed with 55,65,70 speed limit.
windows were up on this trip.
misting and raining almost the whole time.
temps in the lower 50's to upper 40's the whole time.
light traffic on most of the trip.
i hit no traffic jams that could skew my data.
two stops one for restroom and one for gas and food. Both places right off exit to keep with my all highway miles theory.
my driving speed was +10% of the speed limit.
I did zero fun runs. (taken the hit for the whole team)
all speed limit diving was done in 7th gear
BP gas 93 grade
ECO mode the whole 450 miles

the unknown
elevation changes (this made a huge difference for the v4 mode)
how often the AC was actually on (the light was almost always on since I was in auto mode)
I'm sure there are some others,

I have attached a couple of pictures. to see the almost mid results and final results.