C7 Tech/Performance Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lost FOB - Help! TechLine MDI2 programming

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2022, 11:03 AM
maestro300
Instructor

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Lost FOB - Help! TechLine MDI2 programming

I lost my only FOB for my 2014 (somewhere on a jogging trail) Luckily I have the doors unlocked so I unlatched the roof and locked it to keep it safe.

My question is regarding new FOB programming. I have a ACDelco Techline subscription for that VIN so I can do all software updates. I am using a MDI2 clone which works great. I can get the car into accessory mode with it and not have the key (it appears) as it lets me get into the "Immobilizer" learn / relearn option.

Has anybody ever programmed a FOB without having the original key? Is it possible? I'm getting a new Fob delivered today and dont want to screw something up!
Old 10-26-2022, 11:27 AM
eboggs_jkvl
Moderator/Tech Contributor

Location: Jacksonville Florida BWO Dayton, Cincinnati, Bloomsbury NJ, Cincinnati
Received 3,830 Likes on 2,071 Posts
2015 C7 of the Year Finalist

NO, not true. You can program with 0 no FOBs. You need to have the key that came with the car (2nd FOB has key). If you don't have a key, then you are in deep doo-doo. You will need to get a key from the dealer using the VIN. Once you have the key, you can program the new FOBs yourself using the long program that is listed on this forum.

Make sure you have the correct GM FOBs for your car.
4 button TRANSMITTER W/O REMOTE START Manual 14/15 22779879 16/19 23465950
5 button TRANSMITTER W/REMOTE START Automatic 14/15 22779880 16/19 23465951
5 button TRANSMITTER W/O REMOTE START Manual Convertible 14/15 22816265 16/19 23465954
6 button TRANSMITTER W/REMOTE START Automatic Convertible 14/15 22816266 16/19 23465955

Here is the link to the FOB programming thread