Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2014, 11:17 PM
OVERULD
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 296 Likes on 214 Posts
St. Jude Donor '16

Default Ordered My First-Ever Corvette

I have admired the Corvette since I was old enough to drive. I hoped to own one someday but took a few detours along the way. My first car was a 71 Pontiac LeMans. I wanted the GTO on the lot right next to it but my Dad would not hear it. I spent a lot of years in the Pontiac camp and still love the GTOs, and the G8s. Have owned several and my wife still drives an 08 G8 GT in Ignition Orange Metallic that I ordered the Monday after the Super Bowl commercial announcing them aired. Like most of you, I'm a car enthusiast and generally grow very loyal to a brand. After GM killed Pontiac, I started dreaming about Corvettes again.

I had been shopping for an 04 Z16 Z06 for several years, looking for a good original owner example with low miles at the right price. Then I saw the 2014 C7 and the Z16 Z06 quickly faded into the rear view mirror. I followed the introduction and many deliveries and posts about them here, but wanted to wait for the 2015 models to come out before ordering.

On December 18th, I placed a deposit with Mike Furman at Criswell for my very first Corvette! I've found Mike Furman to be very helpful and really appreciate the knowledge he has gained from his 37 years of experience selling the Corvette.

I ordered a Laguna Blue Z51 3LT Convertible, with black top, Brownstone interior with the sueded microfiber inserts and uppers, Competition seats with sueded microfiber steering wheel, shifter and shifter boot, Magnetic Selective Ride, 7-Speed manual, Carbon Fiber Dash, Carbon Fiber Tonneau Inserts, Carbon Flash painted mirrors and spoiler, Chrome Wheels, Red Calipers, Premium Carpeted Floor Mats, Rear Fascia Protector, NAV/PDR and NPP which come with the 3LT, Indoor Cover - Red, Outdoor Cover - Black, and R8C Museum Delivery.