Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Beware out of state buying

Old 06-28-2014, 12:31 PM
Cyber_C7
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Beware out of state buying

Maybe this is old news, but I'm a newbie both here to the forum and to buying a new car site-unseen. Awhile back I sent in my deposit for a 2015 Stingray through a reputable dealer in MI. I live in the Bay Area, CA. They were recommended by a friend in So.Cal who had a great experience buying his 2014 and I was getting the run-around from local dealers here.

Placed my order and all is well, but in order to get my car, I must either fly out to the dealer and pick it up and drive home, or, get a "courtesy delivery" set up at a dealer near you. No problem, sounds reasonable. I calculated the costs & time and figured I'd just let Chevrolet deliver it out here to me.

So I start calling local dealers to help me out. Well it appears that dealers are not "open" to courtesy deliveries. In fact, the dealers here in the Bay Area have been outright rude. This includes our Forum friends at Boardwalk Chevrolet in Redwood City, CA. Tim Boone's reply to my request was "We won't do that here." end of email.... Only one dealer was willing to quote the service.

The way I look at this, I'm buying a Chevrolet and these are Chevrolet dealerships. What's the problem.?? I'm in the Customer Service business as well and if I took the attitude that these dealers are taking, I wouldn't have any customers left and I wouldn't be able to afford the Stingray I'm buying. I understand that they did not make any profit for the actual sale of the car, but they do charge for this service and it is more than likely they will make much more money from me for service related activities over the next years.