Sponsored by:

Stick or Automatic? A confession

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2013, 01:20 AM
Arthur Chandleer
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Stick or Automatic? A confession

My new crystal red Stingray has all the luxuries you could ask for -- and many that I would not have ordered if the car had been "bespoke." It's truly a class act.

Only one feature made me hesitate -- and for many hours sitting in the showroom, I did dither: my Stingray has an automatic transmission.

I've been driving stick shifts (Toyota MR2, C6 Corvette) for the last 12 years, and vowed I would never go back. The sense of intimate connection with the car was something I thought I would never compromise on.

Yet -- here was this beautiful, ultra-cool Corvette with everything else that I wanted.

So various rationalizations came to mind:
"Well, my wife is far more comfortable with an automatic."
"I'm getting older. How much longer will I be able to drive a stick shift?"
Etc. All bs, of course; but you know how it is when you're trying to talk yourself into or out of something.

As it turns out, I don't miss the manual transmission that much. The reason: over the years, driving a stick had become so routine (I almost said "automatic") that I was rarely conscious of shifting gears. I would drive into San Francisco and back, including heavy traffic, stopping in steep hills, etc., all the while thinking about other things. Occasionally I would be aware that I was driving a stick shift, and I was pleased. But now that I have an automatic, I scarcely notice the switch.

The Stingray has a paddle shift option, supposedly simulating a manual transmission. It's a joke. I tried it, and will never use it again. I imagine it's like a serious bicycle racer being given a bike with training wheels.
Old 12-12-2013, 06:46 AM
4thC4at60
Le Mans Master

Received 2,921 Likes on 1,302 Posts

Originally Posted by Arthur Chandleer
<snip>