Sponsored by:

Battery Protection

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2013, 01:58 PM
bevo_87
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Battery Protection

What is the purpose of the battery protection option for $100? Also, what is a battery tender? I am new to this and don't understand the concept or value here.
Old 11-23-2013, 02:00 PM
KenHorse
Team Owner

Location: I live my life by 2 rules. 1) Never share everything you know. 2)
Received 2,401 Likes on 1,366 Posts
St. Jude Donor '11-'12-'13, '16-'17-'18

Yes it is a tender.

Save your $$ and get one off Amazon for a LOT less. There are a couple of other threads about this
Old 11-23-2013, 02:48 PM
bevo_87
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by KenHorse
Yes it is a tender.

Save your $$ and get one off Amazon for a LOT less. There are a couple of other threads about this
ok, I plan on driving mine a lot so not sure if i need one or not. From what i read, it sounds like it is needed only when you stow it away for long periods of time. When do you need to use one.
Old 11-23-2013, 02:54 PM
VETJAZZ
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 206 Likes on 146 Posts

I have a Black & Decker tender I got at Home Depot for $20, but I don't use it that much because I drive my car regularly.
Old 11-23-2013, 02:59 PM
speedlink
Safety Car

Received 599 Likes on 373 Posts

Originally Posted by bevo_87
ok, I plan on driving mine a lot so not sure if i need one or not. From what i read, it sounds like it is needed only when you stow it away for long periods of time. When do you need to use one.
Generally if you park it for two weeks or more.

But it does help to plug it in even overnight. It will help condition the battery with a low amp charge. The battery will last a lot longer.

With that said, get one from Amazon. A lot cheaper and works just as good. It just won't have the Corvette flags on it.
Old 11-23-2013, 03:01 PM
bobbykart
Racer

Received 69 Likes on 38 Posts