Sponsored by:

Manual transmission with parking brake

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2013, 11:05 AM
Speednet
Melting Slicks

Received 755 Likes on 332 Posts

Default Manual transmission with parking brake

It's a pretty common move when starting on a steep hill with a manual transmission to use the parking brake to hold the car while releasing the clutch so that the car doesn't coast backwards too far.

But I have zero experience driving a manual transmission with an electronic parking brake, like the C7 apparently has.

With an automatic transmission and electronic parking brake, some cars will automatically release the parking brake when you start accelerating. You don't have to press the parking brake button to release it.

Does anyone know if that's the way it will work on the C7 with a manual transmission? Because if it does, I'm thinking a steep hill-start will be even easier with an electronic parking brake.
Old 07-08-2013, 11:12 AM
Sin City
Le Mans Master

Received 4,116 Likes on 1,470 Posts
2020 C8 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified

It's super easy.

You just set the parking brake and it holds automatically until it senses the car moving forwards. Then, it releases for you.

Really great for being on steep hills.
Old 07-08-2013, 11:19 AM
Kappa
Melting Slicks

Received 530 Likes on 234 Posts

I don't think I've ever used a parking brake for that but yeah, what Sin City said. I'm pretty sure it worked like that in the CTS-V I drove but that was awhile ago.
Old 07-08-2013, 12:02 PM
MitchAlsup
Le Mans Master

Received 1,592 Likes on 784 Posts

Originally Posted by 2001conv
It's a pretty common move when starting on a steep hill with a manual transmission to use the parking brake to hold the car while releasing the clutch so that the car doesn't coast backwards too far.