Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] Exhaust Valve Failures

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2012, 12:20 AM
valet_devil
Burning Brakes

Received 32 Likes on 16 Posts

Default Exhaust Valve Failures

Hey guys,

I'm posting this on behalf of valet who is deployed right now. My name is Anne and I'm a materials engineer. He wanted me to help rule out exhaust valves as the point of failure. He had been following this issue until a few weeks ago, so if this is a moot point, my apologies. The overall goal here is to find inherent issues \ incompatibilities with the exhaust valves.

Here's what I need:

* one new (post May '08?) valve
* one broken valve
* one old design valve
* a rough schematic of what the valve does, normal operating temperatures, maximum temperature, pressures and speeds

Here's what we will try to answer using typical failure analysis methods (SEM, micrography, etc.)

* what the beginning failure point was (weld, metal, etc.)
* why it failed
* possible mitigation techniques

PM me for the address to send it to and I will post results as they come up. Valet passes: "Thanks for your help on this issue, guys."

END
Old 10-25-2012, 12:29 AM
'06 Quicksilver Z06
Team Owner

Received 30 Likes on 25 Posts

Originally Posted by valet_devil
Hey guys,

I'm posting this on behalf of valet who is deployed right now. My name is Anne and I'm a materials engineer. He wanted me to help rule out exhaust valves as the point of failure. He had been following this issue until a few weeks ago, so if this is a moot point, my apologies. The overall goal here is to find inherent issues \ incompatibilities with the exhaust valves.

Here's what I need:

* one new (post May '08?) valve
* one broken valve
* one old design valve