Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] Tuning Reveled

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2011, 08:38 PM
Halltech
Supporting Vendor

Received 583 Likes on 313 Posts
St. Jude Donor '09

Default Tuning Reveled

There is a lot of talk about tuning, which I have been doing now for almost 10 years. I have worked closely with many tuners, sharing files and none of my tunes have ever been locked. Since I have tuned no less than 500 LS7s since 2006, and was the first to tune an LS7, my tunes have been seen and I'm sure copied or cloned by many.

I believe in this idea. I have from the beginning, since the consumer is the beneficiary of cooperation between tuners. Since many tuners do not share this philosophy, I will not mention names, but I have seen practically every tuner's work that is tuning today, with a few exceptions. Even those that lock their files.

My background is building computers for a small computer company back in the 90s and working in the memory chip industry as the tech support manager for a large memory company. I have worked with Ken Kelly of Carputing in finding GM safety protocol software after having some of this information revealed to me in early 2002. An example is the Cat Overtemp Protection circuit.

Our 2002 Z06 would dyno at 350 RWHP on its first pull and 333 on the second back in the day. Air fuel ratio would go from 12.1:1 all the way down to 10:1. Once Ken and I found that circuit, he put a check box in the LS1Edit to turn it off (of course just on the dyno)

Tuning required or no tuning required.

There are two types of tuning. Both are considered tampering with the stock programming, so GM could void your powertrain warranty if they wanted to.