Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] Nitto Invo's @ Willow Springs

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2008, 05:29 PM
stano
Safety Car

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nitto Invo's HPDE @ Willow Springs

First, let me say that I'm not a tire expert and this was my first track event. I have no comparisons to this tire other than my street impressions vs. the GY runflats which I've posted in the past. I love 'em on the street and on the track I was quite pleased to say the least.

When I arrived at Willow Springs @ 7:00 it was 31* and I don't think it got much warmer than 50*

My cold tire pressure was 35 lbs and the hot temps were 39lbs.

I elected to have a guest driver named Chris Kaufmann drive the first session to show me the track and the lines. In the past he has driven in the 24 hrs of Daytona, Trans Am series, Speed World Challenge and has several SCCA-AS National titles. He is an ex Bondurant Instructor and a current Barber Driving Experience instructor. He is also the PR/Motorsports Manager for Borla Industries.

After the first session we discussed the brakes, suspension and tires.

Brakes: He wasn't thrilled with the Hawk HP's.

Suspension: He felt the suspension and overall handling of the car was good, but suggested more shock stiffness in the front. I have the QA1's, they were set at 8 in the front and 10 in the rear. I bumped the fronts to 9. The Pfatty sways were at neutral and stayed there.

Tires: I asked him about the tires and he really didn't say anything about them, so I'll take that as a good.