C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

need advice on cooling upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2024, 09:26 AM
beason
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default need advice on cooling upgrades

I know this has probably been asked a few times, but new products hit the market regularly. Plus I'm a novice at this so i want to make sure i get the right hardware.

2011 base vette with an aftermarket ECS 1500 blower system + Houston area heat and traffic + constant need for A/C = 235+ temps and climbing.

Want to refresh the cooling system with a better radiator and fan setup, along with any other suggestions.

I looked at the Dewitts site, and they are PROUD of those things! plus I dont know which one I

need as there are like a dozen options with various internal coolers.
I've heard great things about mishimoto in general, but not specific to this application.
I've seen the term SPAL fans, but not sure what exactly that is.

I will be doing the work myself, so ease of install and wiring would be important.

Are there any additional ways to evacuate the heat under the hood? ducted blower fans?

All advice is welcome!!
Thanks!

Old 04-23-2024, 06:35 PM
Dano523
Race Director

Received 3,032 Likes on 2,185 Posts

Meth kit running 50/50 mix, and as you pointed out, Dewalt radiator with dual fan set up and SSR as PWM so you can push the fans harder, and not burn up a stock PWM..

Also, make dam sure you have a void area between your inter cooler, and the condenser coil in front of the radiator, so condenser/radiator can still get fresh cooler air at lower speeds, and not just the hotter air through the inter cooler/condenser alone.

Looking for gap like this, and a way for air flow into the gap as well.