C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stock 05 LS2 C6 MN6: Best 1/4 mile techniques?

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2014, 09:51 AM
JaimeVrod
Pro

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Stock 05 LS2 C6 MN6: Best 1/4 mile techniques?

I'm new to the C6 and I want to go to the drag strip this weekend to baseline my car. Can someone tell me the best launch and shift techniques to lay down some low ETs?

My car is basically stock. It has a Borla cat back muffler set up and a CAI with factory Eagle F1 supercar run flat tires. I don't think the car has ever received a tune.

What rpm should I launch at and what rpm should I make my shifts?

Should traction control and stability control be on or should I be in Competitive Driving mode?

Recommendations on front and rear tire pressures?

I'd appreciate all they help I can get.

I am aware that track officials might not let me pass inspection due to the removable roof, but that is a different issue for a different thread.

Thanks.
Old 04-10-2014, 10:36 AM
D.Guerra
Instructor

Don't do the burn out and if you do stop if you have wheel hop. You'll break an axle. Learn your car for launch to get the least to no wheel spin at take off. Mine is set up to shift at exactly 6500 thanks to the tune. If you go to slicks or sticky tires on those axles they'll break.
Old 04-10-2014, 01:04 PM
JaimeVrod
Pro

Originally Posted by D.Guerra
Don't do the burn out and if you do stop if you have wheel hop. You'll break an axle. Learn your car for launch to get the least to no wheel spin at take off. Mine is set up to shift at exactly 6500 thanks to the tune. If you go to slicks or sticky tires on those axles they'll break.