C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C6 grandsport auto+cam

Old 01-04-2013, 01:09 AM
Grandsportgodzilla
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C6 grandsport auto+cam

I want to get some more power out of my ls3 and I have saved a little money up to be able to get something. Im thinking a cam plus intake and full exhaust. My car is an auto and a daily driver so it would have to be something on the mild side. Any suggestions from you guys? this will be my first car with a cam so I am new to this. I want to get around 475whp with these mods is that do able with a mild cam?
Old 01-04-2013, 01:24 AM
gschub
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Performance

Change the differential gears, install 3.42 or 3.15. Where are you going to use the increased performance, street, drags, mile shoot out???? I have a 2008 C6 A6 and changed gears to 3.42's, turn 11.9et, 116mph. I choose the gear change for a number of reasons, the big one is I live in Calif., the car will not pass SMOG regs with a cam and headers. Bottom line, the gear change will wake up that LS3.
Old 01-04-2013, 02:10 AM
SpinMonster
Tech Contributor

Received 178 Likes on 124 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08-'09-'10-'11

It wont dyno 475 through an auto trans. To do that would take the same cam that would make 495-500rwhp on a manual which is about as good as it gets.

A 228/232 cam is about what would make 470rwhp on an M6 but expect your car to dyno about 445-450rwhp because its an auto.

I'd get the gears too.
Old 01-04-2013, 02:54 AM
Gering
Tolero Apto Victum
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 37 Likes on 34 Posts

Originally Posted by SpinMonster
It wont dyno 475 through an auto trans. To do that would take the same cam that would make 495-500rwhp on a manual which is about as good as it gets.