C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Installing a Cam, intersted in purchasing some tools

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2012, 09:54 PM
Danspeed1
Drifting

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default Installing a Cam, intersted in purchasing some tools

Hello,

I will be installing a cam and valve springs on my 2005 LS2 Corvette. I am a novice installer with very little cam experience. Although I did go to school for Auto Tech a number of years ago, we spent very little time on degreeing of cams or performance installation, mostly focusing on the dot to do method and the purpose of the cam and its operation.

This is my first cam install and I am hoping it is not going to be my last. Friends of mine have been interested in doing this themselves as well, however everyone around me is scared, and I am going to be the one to take the leap of faith and give this a try.

I will be installing the cam with the heads on. I will be reusing the original lifters. Everything else will be replaced. The cam is a custom cam by Hendrix Engineering.

I am looking to purchase a JPR Cam tool, as well as a spring compression tool (specifically thinking about the comp cams one as it looks easy to use), and a degree wheels as I would like to learn how to use one so I can do the job properly.

Any other good to have items? What are your thoughts on an easy to use degree wheel?

DG
Old 06-06-2012, 08:48 AM
lockman
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts