C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Grinding in Rear, Ticking/Resistance in front (while turning)

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2012, 07:45 PM
Narazumono85
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Grinding in Rear, Ticking/Resistance in front (while turning)

So yeah, I bought a C6 2008 corvette, and it seems while at low speeds when I am turning hard right or left, feels like resistance on the wheels like its jolting, and in the back it sounds like grinding I dont know if its just loose calipars in the back gridning against the roaders but I doubt that. I am new to corvettes and any suggestions before I bring it some place and probably get lied to would be help. (I'm in the Army and just moved to the DC area don't have a mechanic here so will probably get screwed over a few times before I find someone honest so any help would be great) thanks!!
Old 02-05-2012, 09:42 PM
RicK T
Team Owner

Received 556 Likes on 452 Posts

Welcome to the Forum!!! Congratulations on your '08!! Hope you enjoy it.

The front wheel jolting while turning hard is just a normal function of the wide tires. The outside edge of the tire has to travel farther than the inside edge so it skips a little. No issue there.

The grinding in the back is "most likely" the posi-traction. GM changed the type of differential fluid in '08. The new one doesn't need an additional friction modifier and works wonders for what you are describing. Here's the TSB on it:

Originally Posted by JJC5
Subject: Rear Axle Clunk and/or Chatter Type Noise on Turns
(Drain/Refill Rear Differential Fluid) #07-04-20-002A - (01/09/2008)

Models: 2004-2008 Cadillac XLR (Including V-Series and Export)

2005-2008 Chevrolet Corvette (Including Z06 and Export)