C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

CARB Legal Custom Spec Cam swap for LS3 vs LS7/LS9 cam and other mods to reach 500RWH

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2013, 10:04 PM
hw3__
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default CARB Legal Custom Spec Cam swap for LS3 vs LS7/LS9 cam and other mods to reach 500RWH

Hello CF…

In efforts of wanting to try to stay CARB LEGAL (Pass CA Emissions), this is what im working with...

Current Corvette Specs:
2012 GS A6
Corsa Catback

Immediate Future Mods:
ZR1 Manifolds, Cats, MidPipe

Mods Under Research:
LS7 Cam vs LS9 Cam vs Custom Spec Cam
A&A SuperCharger vs More Bolt Ons
Ported Intake
Ported Throttle Body
Thermostat
Cold Air Intake
Custom Tune
(interested in suggestions?)

Since i am new to the modding realm and new to CA, i thought what better place to gain more knowledge/personal input than that from my fellow CF members! (yes i have read countless threads similar to what i am requesting but most seem to, at some point, go on a tangent and not fully address the OP's questions so i wanted to start my own thread for personal reference)

My aim is to hit and/or surpass the 500RWH mark with my GS while it remains my daily driver and doesn't sacrifice much deviation from stock like functionality. (some deviation is ok but nothing drastic i.e. like what i have been reading with cam swaps, the bucking/surging etc.)

Questions:

1) LS7 Cam or LS9 Cam or Custom Spec Cam - Which is a better fit for my A6 GS, please use details to support your suggestion? (since its my DD, looking more so for low->mid power gains and some high power gains if possible) (i do like the lopey sound that can be achieved from a new cam, so if at all possible, i would like to have one with some lope variation)

2) If Custom Spec Cam is the way to go, suggestions of reputable vendors or point of contacts'?