C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Do I need Diamond Embedded Washer for pulley with ARP bolt??

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2009, 10:24 AM
UberR32
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do I need Diamond Embedded Washer for pulley with ARP bolt??

I am reinstalling an OEM LS2 balancer with an ARP bolt, and I'm not sure if I need the POA friction washer or Diamond Embedded Washer if I'm using the ARP balancer bolt. I can't even find the part number at www.gmpartsdirect.com . . .
Old 07-02-2009, 12:05 PM
Wayne O
CF Senior Member
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts

I'm no mechanical expert but with an OEM balancer I'd make sure it had the friction washer. The friction washer became a production part in the 2006 LS2 and LS7. Early 2005's without the DEW suffered problems. Short of pinning the crank I'd want the friction washer.

I don't know about ARP bolts but I believe the part number for the GM torque-to-yield bolt is #12557840. I vaguely recall they cost $5 or $6 and you need two when installing and setting the harmonic balancer.
Old 07-02-2009, 01:58 PM
UberR32
Pro

wayne, thanks for the reply. I read the TSB on the friction washer, and it mentioned that there was a misalignment in the torquing machine, and several crank bolts were not torqued properly. I also had the same impression that the later cars did get the washer from the factory, but I cannot find any data to support that. Thus, maybe the washers were used as a fix to the early cars only . . . Anyways, thanks for your post.
Old 07-06-2010, 07:57 AM
LeMans05C6
Pro