C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Taking car out of storage - pull fuel pump fuse...???

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2009, 01:52 PM
JRHAWK9
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Taking car out of storage - pull fuel pump fuse...???

Hi there, I have been storing cars since I was 17 years old and I have always cranked the motor over a few times without either ignition or fuel to just prime the oil pump a bit. On the older cars, I would just pull the power to the coil or HEI distributor and crank away. I newer cars with the standard column ignition I would just pull the fuel pump fuse and crank away. With my Vette what will happen if I pull the fuel pump fuse and try to start it, seeing it has that push button start? Will it keep cranking and cranking? I would just like to turn the motor over a few times to prime the oil pump and get things moving a bit before combustion. Has anyone tried pulling the fuel pump fuse and tried starting the car?

thanks!
Old 05-10-2009, 02:29 PM
Heywood
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have absolutely no experience in this, but am guessing 1 of 2 things would happen.

1- The engine wouldn't crank and display some message like no fuel PSI detected.

2- It will turn over for a few seconds and stop. This would be the same as if you ran out of gas and tried to start it. I can't imagine they would allow it to turn over so you would be out of gas and have a dead battery.

Anyone ever run their C6 out of gas before?
Old 05-10-2009, 02:43 PM
oldmansan
Safety Car

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
St. Jude Donor '09

Push the gas pedal to the floor and hit the starter. It won't start, but will turn over. I just changed my oil last night and did this very thing. When you're ready to start the car, take your foot off the gas pedal. Works great!

San
Old 05-10-2009, 02:45 PM
nwc6