C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Spin outs? C6 problem? Does anyone care?

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2008, 01:04 PM
awschucks
Pro

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Spin outs? C6 problem? Does anyone care?

Hi,
In a past life, I worked on contact reliability issues with Bell Labs. I was working on making contacts more reliable for central station switching applications. I also worked as a counsultant on the GM check engne light issue in the late 80's.

I'm reading that there is a potential lethal problem with a connector under the steering wheel. The Steering WPS (wheel position sensor) has a resistance value that is monitored by the active handling computer. The AHC will apply the brakes on one or more wheels to get the car to turn if you turn the steering wheel and the car does not follow your original steering wheel turn. What this means is you cannot do a doughnut or if you go into a turn too fast the car will follow your steering commands and not spin out.

Now if the connector under the dash has an intermittent connection, it can send a fake message to the AHC that you have turned the wheel. (without looking up the values, I would guess that this will send a right turn indication to the AHC). This is the stage for a real problem.

Now what to do about this?

It's a long story, but many connectors fail on the first use, much less when they are getting pulled back and forth with the steering column making the 'fretting' issue a real problem. Actually, fretting usually describes micro movements. The problem here is closer to wearing. Anyway, for a contact to be reliable, it must have what Bell Labs calls an gas tight connection.