C6 Scan & Tune Onboard Diagnostics, Service Advice, Dyno Tuning, and Fuel Management for the Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HP Tuners Pro or EFI Live???

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2012, 05:53 PM
08VRZ06
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Cruise-In X Veteran

Default HP Tuners Pro or EFI Live???

Tuners...... I'm thinking of purchasing tuning software so which one would you all recommend, EFI Live or HP Tuners Pro and why??? Can one do more than the other??

Thanks

Mark
Old 05-25-2012, 09:22 PM
AIR_RAM
Burning Brakes

Received 102 Likes on 76 Posts

Bump... Im still wondering whats the best option to tune my vette as well...

SPEED SAFE, NICK
Old 05-26-2012, 10:13 AM
Michael_D
Safety Car

Received 361 Likes on 270 Posts

I can offer a totally worthless and no help for you type of response, as I am just learning how to tune via computer.

I bought HP Tuners because I was working with a tuner last year that used HP Tuners. He would send me a tune, I'd flash it, then take a log and send that to him, then he'd tweak the tune, send it back.I was never all that happy with the tune and felt it could be better, so I got curious and decided to learn this black art myself. I upgraded to the Pro interface and bought an LC1. Then I swapped cams and heads, thinking I'd just work with a tuner like I had before, and then tweak it after it was running well enough for me to not send a piston through the block. Well, come to find out, (post mortem and sunk costs on HP Tuners) is that the majority of tuners and dyno facilities use EFI Live. Some use both, but not many. It appears as if the enthusiast / DIY crowd primarily use HP Tuners. I suspect it is because it has a lower initial cost more than any other reason. But if you were tuning a lot of vehicles, then HP Tuners would end up being more costly, as you have to buy "credits" in order to flash a tune (different amount of credits per vehicle). If I were a pro, there's no way in hell I'd do that.