C6 Forced Induction/Nitrous C6 Corvette Turbochargers, Superchargers, Pulley Upgrades, Intercoolers, Wet and Dry Nitrous Injection, Meth
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Whats the experience like going from a centri blower/meth/water to turbo?

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2020, 07:14 PM
dizwiz24
Race Director

Received 568 Likes on 443 Posts

Default Whats the experience like going from a centri blower/meth/water to turbo?

Ive been super happy with my smallish p1-sc blower and meth/water injection on a stock bottom end manual car.

im no expert mechanic, but I installed it myself , tuned it myself, worked the bugs out and am confident enough that i daily drive it and trip it as well . 200 + miles from home. Have never needed towed. I was very proud of myself for this project

that said, ive been thinking down the road to a d1-x or even f series procharger / eventually needing a bottom end build which i will pull/install the motor myself

that said, what am i missing out with turbo (vs centrifugal blower) - is it just such a better experience that I should be going that route? Seems way more complicated, the car would be down longer as tubing needs bent/fabricated. I may need some kind of boost controller (ie. Added complication).

unlike the centrifugal, i WONT be able to do most of the work. It will cut into my other hobbies

then again, ive followed builds here and noted that once centrifugal guys go turbo - they dont seem to go back (to centrifugal).

any long term advice?
Old 07-30-2020, 07:43 PM
JetstreamGS
Drifting

Received 174 Likes on 148 Posts

I’d save the money and keep what you have. If anything swap head units and turn up the boost.
The following users liked this post:
wideglideleon (08-11-2020)
Old 07-30-2020, 10:41 PM
MRSUPRA
Racer

Received 90 Likes on 62 Posts