Corvette Forum  


Go Back   Corvette Forum > C6 Corvette, 2005 - ???? > C6 Corvettes for Sale
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Vendors Buy a Vette Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ PhotosGarage

C6 Corvettes for Sale
Private Classifieds, Used C6 Corvettes For Sale, and Modified or Stock Corvettes Sponsored by
Les Stanford Chevrolet

Corvette Store
 
 
C6 Parts & Accessories
C5 Parts & Accessories
Wheels & Tires
Sponsored Ads
 
 
Vendor Directory
 
Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2006, 09:22 AM   #1
keith5
CF Senior Member
Support Corvetteforum!
 
keith5's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2002
Location: Groundhog Mountain - Blue Ridge Parkway
Default Another EBay scam?

I've seen several EBay scams on C6's in the last few months. They are usually pulled or disappear very quickly. However, there appears to be one that is still lingereing this AM that showed up last week.
It's a '05 convertible, 6 spd, F55, 7K miles. Buy It Now for $9,000.00
Has anybody else seen it??

Last edited by keith5; 03-13-2006 at 09:24 AM.
keith5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 12:18 PM   #2
The Garage Master
CF Senior Member
 
The Garage Master's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2004
Location: Parkland Florida
Default

I just wanted who is stupid enough to believe it.
The Garage Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 06:39 PM   #3
keith5
CF Senior Member
Support Corvetteforum!
 
keith5's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2002
Location: Groundhog Mountain - Blue Ridge Parkway
Default

Still there...Here's the link...
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2005-...QQcmdZViewItem
keith5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 08:47 PM   #4
chargedsol
CF Senior Member
 
chargedsol's Avatar
 
Member Since: Nov 2005
Location: Bay Area CA
Send a message via AIM to chargedsol
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Triple Black C6
I just wanted who is stupid enough to believe it.
chargedsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 09:29 PM   #5
The Garage Master
CF Senior Member
 
The Garage Master's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2004
Location: Parkland Florida
Default

3 suckers have bid to this point.
The Garage Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 10:01 PM   #6
keith5
CF Senior Member
Support Corvetteforum!
 
keith5's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2002
Location: Groundhog Mountain - Blue Ridge Parkway
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Triple Black C6
3 suckers have bid to this point.
Last Friday it had 46 bids - all identical (indentity masked) placed one minute apart from each other. Over the weekend that was "reset" to 32. Once again all identical , identity blocked. Now, if you click on the bids , it shows a long list of cancellations and retractions. Clearly some horses a55 is jerking people around looking for a nice big fool with cash..
keith5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 02:36 AM   #7
Rbil2h
CF Member
 
Rbil2h's Avatar
 
Member Since: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces New Mexico
Default Wuh hoo not a real one.

Yes. I went to the link. Whenever I see a ebayer with a zero I do nothing. I believe someone is generating fake accounts and Ebay goes after those people once there tech people catch. I find it very sad. And a little humorous. Thanks for bringing this to the corvette communities attention. Russ
Rbil2h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 11:32 AM   #8
keith5
CF Senior Member
Support Corvetteforum!
 
keith5's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2002
Location: Groundhog Mountain - Blue Ridge Parkway
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rbil2h
Yes. I went to the link. Whenever I see a ebayer with a zero I do nothing. I believe someone is generating fake accounts and Ebay goes after those people once there tech people catch. I find it very sad. And a little humorous. Thanks for bringing this to the corvette communities attention. Russ
Thanks Russ, I checked this AM and it is still there. I am starting to think that this is a real deal it is just being managed by a total jerk.
He has cancelled all bids with the explanantion "PLEASE CONTACT ME FOR THE BUY_IT_NOW PRICE". Guy is probably a former Enron executive.
keith5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 04:55 PM   #9
keith5
CF Senior Member
Support Corvetteforum!
 
keith5's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2002
Location: Groundhog Mountain - Blue Ridge Parkway
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keith5
It's gone! No explanation.
keith5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 06:23 PM   #10
jabez
CF Senior Member

 
jabez's Avatar
 
Member Since: Apr 2004
Location: Milpitas ca
Send a message via ICQ to jabez Send a message via AIM to jabez
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keith5
It's gone! No explanation.
I reported them last nite.
jabez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 08:37 PM   #11
snakeman56
CF Senior Member
 
snakeman56's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2004
Location: Centennial Colorado
Default

Just to see what kind of response I would get, I went ahead and sent an email telling him I was interested, here is his response.

undefined This was his response to my email
From: "James" <im3@juno.com>
[Add to Address Book]
To: snakeman56@gmail.com
Subject: Re: 2005 Chevrolet Corvette LS2 Convertible
Date: Wednesday, March 15, 2006 7:47:29 AM [View Source]



Hello Tom,

Thank you for your interest. First of all you should know that the car has a clear title, it's in excellent condition, like new, mechanically and aesthetically intact, no damages, no hidden defects. This 2005 Chevrolet Corvette LS2 Convertible with has only 6,995 original miles. It is in pristine condition with full factory warranty. In addition this Corvette has been adult owned, driven and always garage kept. It's a US machine with US specs (mph). The six speed transmission is wonderful, crisp, smooth, and solid feeling. Overall interior is pristine throughout, no rips, tears, burns, stains or worn spots anywhere. It has never been smoked in.
Although my ebay account was initiated in US, I'm located in Europe, Spain for the moment. I spend a lot of the time in US with business but I have my family here in Spain. I took the car with me here a few weeks ago. I'm willing to ship it from here through Lufthansa Air Cargo and cover the shipping and insurance fees to your location in US. The total price is $9,000 shipping included. I thought selling my Vette through eBay would be a good idea, giving the fact that I need some fast cash to build a new house here.
I would like our transaction to be supervised by eBay Motors and SafeHarbor center. In case we have a deal I will notify eBay Motors transactions department so they can inform you about my reliability and how we can proceed with this transaction in a 100% safe way.
Please let me know your position,

James

-- "Thomas Sierra" <snakeman56@gmail.com> wrote:

undefined This was my email asking him about the vette

Hi I am interested in the car!! Where is the car located? and are you still taking the BIN for $9000.00?

Thank you!!
Tom

Last edited by snakeman56; 03-15-2006 at 11:37 PM. Reason: Double Posting
snakeman56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 11:19 PM   #12
jabez
CF Senior Member

 
jabez's Avatar
 
Member Since: Apr 2004
Location: Milpitas ca
Send a message via ICQ to jabez Send a message via AIM to jabez
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snakeman56
Hi I am interested in the car!! Where is the car located? and are you still taking the BIN for $9000.00?

Thank you!!
Tom

AM [View Source]
I think he said Spain.
jabez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 11:35 PM   #13
snakeman56
CF Senior Member
 
snakeman56's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2004
Location: Centennial Colorado
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jabez
I think he said Spain.
This was the email I sent him first and the other one is his response, it goes bottom up.
snakeman56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 01:15 AM   #14
Vet Interested
CF Senior Member
 
Vet Interested's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keith5
I've seen several EBay scams on C6's in the last few months. They are usually pulled or disappear very quickly. However, there appears to be one that is still lingereing this AM that showed up last week.
It's a '05 convertible, 6 spd, F55, 7K miles. Buy It Now for $9,000.00
Has anybody else seen it??

I bought it!!! Not!!!!
Vet Interested is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 01:15 AM
 
Go Back   Corvette Forum > C6 Corvette, 2005 - ???? > C6 Corvettes for Sale
Reload this Page Another EBay scam?
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
colorado, corvette, ebay, scam


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Click for Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another eBay scam... Mecom Racer C1 & C2 Corvettes 9 03-25-2005 02:19 PM
What the Hey, another Ebay scam ss409cid C6 Corvette General Discussion 19 03-10-2005 12:38 PM
Another Ebay Corvette Scam Love My 72 and 77 C3 Tech/Performance 11 08-22-2004 10:21 PM
I smell another Ebay scam... 2000Hoo C1 & C2 Corvettes 9 03-30-2004 11:28 AM
The C3 ebay scam thread (formerly "Another ebay scam?") Secret Squirrel C3 Tech/Performance 32 02-24-2004 01:58 PM
Another ebay weirdo ??? Grey Ghost C1 & C2 Corvettes 12 08-30-2003 12:52 AM
Ebay scam - Avoid these WHEEL auctions ta25th C5 Parts for Sale/Wanted 35 02-13-2003 10:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.1 PL1
Emails & Password Backup