Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

Need Help With Oil Pressure On A Wet Sump LS7

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2020, 08:24 AM
TomasTequila
Cruising

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Need Help With Oil Pressure On A Wet Sump LS7

Hopefully this is the right place since it is LS7 related. I'm new to LS and have some concerns on my setup. I bought an '11 Grand Sport that had a 437 LSX. 200 miles later I put a hole in the block (supposedly ~6K miles on the build). I ordered a 434 (long block, LS7) from one of the more well known companies. It was ordered with a wet sump since it had already been converted when the 437 was installed. As one can imagine, I have been a little a paranoid about the whole ordeal because I've already spent a substantial amount more than originally planned. From everything I have searched, read, etc it seems my oil pressure could be low. The issue is I'm having a hard time finding info on this due to it being a less common setup. So basically I'm not sure exactly what pressures I should be seeing. The break in oil used was 10-40 and they recommended going to 10-30 or 10-40 after the first ~300 miles. I drained the break in oil, which came out quite clean, and filled it with 6 qts of Mobil 1 10-30. I now have 90 miles with the 10-30.
The pressures I'm seeing are as follows:
Cold start - 60-65 psi
Idling at operating temperature - 19 psi
During regular cruising at any rpm - 40 psi
During acceleration - nothing over 50 psi.
No pressure drops whatsoever