Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] Michelin Pilot Sports PS2 SCARY WHEN COLD

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2011, 12:34 PM
cbgpe
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts

Default Michelin Pilot Sports PS2 SCARY WHEN COLD

This is the third set of tires on the car 36 k miles. I have run the goodyear run flats 14 k , the bridgesone pole positions 22k and finally these Pilot sports
The are worthless in cold weather estimate 0.7-0.8 MU the bridgestones under the same conditions new were about 1.08 mu now after 22kmiles 1.0 mu. I feel more confident in the handling and stopping performance of my diesel pick up truck than the Z06 with these tires. They are even worse than the goodyears which were also awful in the cold . For reference I am a licensed PE I make my living by doing accident reconstruction and vehicle testing.

The car is currently parked awaiting the arrival of a new set of pole positions. The only place the car is going to be driven to is the tire shop to get these tires taken off. IF you like to drive your ZO6 on those nice winter days or early spring days and you just street driving these Michelin are scary. The Michelin tires pick up every bit of road debris and grit blast the bottom of the car. I am sure for some these are great tires. The tire rack people (Penny) were great they have a set of pole positions being shipped on monday and they are going to take the Michelins back.
Old 03-26-2011, 12:37 PM
blackvetterzo6
Le Mans Master

Received 1,022 Likes on 567 Posts

Originally Posted by cbgpe
This is the third set of tires on the car 36 k miles. I have run the goodyear run flats 14 k , the bridgesone pole positions 22k and finally these Pilot sports