Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] to add or not to add... Octane booster?

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2008, 06:23 PM
08C6ZO6
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default to add or not to add... Octane booster?

Hello all, I am excited to be here as my dream came true and I got my very own 2008 ZO6 (masterfully crafted by the one and only Robert Vernier). I have a couple questions about it already, My work brought me to California where the best you can do on octane is 91. It seems like after I ride the beast hard even for a short distance I notice a little knocking or ticking noise. If I add octane booster will it help this? Thanks in advance for any help.
Old 01-06-2008, 07:19 PM
El Puto
Drifting

Originally Posted by 08C6ZO6
Hello all, I am excited to be here as my dream came true and I got my very own 2008 ZO6 (masterfully crafted by the one and only Robert Vernier). I have a couple questions about it already, My work brought me to California where the best you can do on octane is 91. It seems like after I ride the beast hard even for a short distance I notice a little knocking or ticking noise. If I add octane booster will it help this? Thanks in advance for any help.
My advice is to simply run higher octane. You can get MS 109 from VP racing - I get it at Downs Energy. Mix two gallons of that with the rest 91 and voila - 93 octane.
Old 01-06-2008, 07:35 PM
mercruiser
Burning Brakes

The majority of members here think that octane boosters are a waste of money. You can try searching the forum and probably find the old thread. I have never used them because I get the 93 octane.