Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] Brake caliper bolt torque

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2006, 12:36 AM
ww50th
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Brake caliper bolt torque

I just installed the Hawk ceramic brake pads in my 07 Zo6. This was quite an experience. First off, I have been a professional mechanic and in the maintenance business for 40 years. I have in excess if 20,000.00 in tools, mostly Snap-On. I just twisted off a Snap-On 6 MM allen head socket trying to remove the brake pins in the caliper. That is total B.S. This has to be a serious design flaw that GM is obviously aware of but again doing nothing about. That is about a 1/2 inch diameter aluminum fastner with a 6 MM allen internal wrenching head that is installed with 30 ft. lbs. of torque. Something is always going to fail in that equasion. I had to remove the calipers to replace the pads. This forum lists the torque for those bolts at 125 ft. lbs. They broke loose at way less than 100 ft. lbs. I want to verify that the correct torque for the caliper to bracket bolts with the 21MM head is 125 ft. lbs. installed with Lock-Tite. Thanks for any info on this.
Old 11-25-2006, 12:43 AM
allanlaw
Le Mans Master

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by ww50th