C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My Corvette Changed My Life

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2022, 12:25 PM
Fishy Dave
Instructor

Received 171 Likes on 51 Posts
Default My Corvette Changed My Life

Hi All,

I'd like to share my Corvette story so far, seeing as how it really started with buying a C6 from a Corvette Forum advert at the end of 2017.

'Clive' the $9995, 190,000 mile Corvette C6 took my wife and I across the States, from California to the Texas coast, unforgettable memories. We stopped at Circuit Of The Americas, Austin; more than two years later my son was born and we named him Austin.

Shipping the C6 back home to England I have added thousands more miles, have driven the car in eight European countries (so far) and won two Time Attack style championships. As I write in December 2022 I think it's up at 223,000 miles.

I'm not a writer by trade, I organize motor racing, but Corvette ownership and becoming a father inspired me to write first one, then two children's books, with 'Clive' as the main character. I really don't want to get in trouble with the moderators, so I'm not going to link to, or picture the books, but I do feel proud that GM have authorized them to be sold in the NCM.

Later this week I am leaving for another adventure in the C6, I'll update the thread over Christmas when I return, I'm driving to somewhere unusual.

The story starts back in October 2016. My wife, Beth and I enjoyed our first road trip to the USA, hiring a Mustang convertible (I know, sorry!) and exploring California. The highlight of this trip was driving on a trackday at Laguna Seca (in a friends BMW Z4M), towards the end of the day I asked a stranger for a passenger ride in his Corvette C6 Grandsport.