C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can you use an Oil Extractor on a C6?

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2020, 06:10 PM
S2K
Melting Slicks

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Can you use an Oil Extractor on a C6?

I've been changing my oil on the C6 through the plug for the past 15 years. I recently bought an oil extractor for my wife's Audi Q7 and I was curious to try it on the C6. My intention was to extract the oil and then pull the plug to see how much oil remained after the extractor finished. However, I could not extract even a drop of oil. I assume there is some baffling preventing the tube from getting into the oil pan. That's all fine as this was just an experiment but I am wondering if anyone could could get oil out of their C6 through an extractor?
Old 06-23-2020, 09:00 PM
FAUEE
Race Director

Received 4,476 Likes on 2,815 Posts

I have to use an oil extractor on my boat engines and it takes forever. I wouldn't buy a car without an oil drain plug to cha ge oil with.

You could probably get to it from the oil fill port if you had to,
Old 06-23-2020, 09:46 PM
HobbesTiger
Racer

Received 225 Likes on 123 Posts

I have an extractor, but it always seems to leave a considerable amount of oil in the pan--anywhere from 1/2 to 3/4 of a quart. I use to use as I was keeping up with my kids cars and doing 8 oil changes a year it saved time. To be honest, I stopped using it a few years ago and wen't back to just draining it from the pan in my own cars.

As I change the oil in my C6 only once a year, it's not a big deal to put it up on the QuickJack and change it the old fashioned way.

Last edited by HobbesTiger; 06-23-2020 at 09:48 PM.
The following users liked this post:
MontanaZR1 (06-25-2020)
Old 06-24-2020, 01:30 AM
S2K
Melting Slicks