C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Broken C6 Z06 OEM Seat Frame!

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2015, 09:49 PM
Jet Jockey & C5
Pro

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Broken C6 Z06 OEM Seat Frame!

Up at the NCM recently I suffered a catastrophic seat frame failure on my 2010 Z06 sitting still in the paddock at the new NCM Motorsports Park where I was an instructor for their inaugural HPDE! I'm 5'9" and weigh about 185 lbs. I have no interior mods beyond shift ****. No harness bar. All OEM seats, belts, etc.

As I was sitting quietly waiting for my student to join me, suddenly the frame broke and my seat fell backwards and there was no way I could reach the steering wheel! IF that had occurred minutes before or after while on track OR even while driving on the street, it could have turned out very very badly for me and my passenger / student!

Very curious if anyone else has heard or seen this sort of thing? As luck would have it the factory interior QC guy was in the pits and came by and opened up the rear of the seat and saw the broken frame first hand. He appeared quite surprised and indicated he hadn't heard of this going on at all. Folks gathered round and speculated that it was a manufacturing metallurgy defect??

I'm just beginning the process of figuring out what to do on this so thought I would come to the CF first to find out if anyone else has any ideas / experience?

Thanks in advance!
Jet Jockey
Old 01-04-2015, 09:36 AM
1968swbbigblock
Drifting

Received 201 Likes on 162 Posts

It would be helpful to understand what broke and how.
Is this a break in the metal, a weld, or a recline mechanism.
Pictures would be great as well
Old 01-04-2015, 02:04 PM
Jet Jockey & C5
Pro

Originally Posted by 1968swbbigblock
It would be helpful to understand what broke and how.
Is this a break in the metal, a weld, or a recline mechanism.
Pictures would be great as well