C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2005-2008 Corvette purchase

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2014, 11:37 PM
gmtech1234
Racer

Received 18 Likes on 11 Posts
Default 2005-2008 Corvette purchase

I am a new member. I may be able in the near future to purchase a 2005-2008 Corvette. I am in Arizona & can find nice cars in the 35-50K mile range. Is there anything that I should look for or avoid on these years? I am a retired Chevy tech & have wanted a Corvette since I was a young boy, its now or never
Old 07-02-2014, 12:37 AM
Mike's LS3
Safety Car

Received 733 Likes on 473 Posts

Originally Posted by gmtech1234
I am a new member. I may be able in the near future to purchase a 2005-2008 Corvette. I am in Arizona & can find nice cars in the 35-50K mile range. Is there anything that I should look for or avoid on these years? I am a retired Chevy tech & have wanted a Corvette since I was a young boy, its now or never
I would recommend buying the newest model in your budget. That being said, GM made some significant changes in 2008. Here are some of them:

1. All new LS3 6.2 430hp 424 lb-ft. torque.
2. NPP exhaust increases LS3 output to 436hp 428 lb-ft. torque.
3. Improve flowing cylinder heads, air intake, intake manifold, etc.
4. New and stronger manual transmission.
5. Interior trim enhancements.
6. MP3 jack.
7. Added Crystal red and Jetstream blue tint coat exterior colors.
8 Improved steering feel.

Last edited by Mike's LS3; 07-02-2014 at 02:51 AM.
Old 07-02-2014, 12:45 AM
dlind4
Racer

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

What mike said. I have a 2008 coupe and have had it for over a year and no problems other than the roof creaks sometimes.
Old 07-02-2014, 08:10 AM
tprice
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 43 Likes on 30 Posts

Originally Posted by Mike's LS3