C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C6 Borla Exhaust Installation

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2014, 12:41 PM
alltexan
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C6 Borla Exhaust Installation

I am about to pull the trigger on a Borla S-Type Rear Exhaust system for my 2008 C6. I am wintering away from from home and wanted to get it installed soon. Any advice on installers.... I have a relationship with the local Chevy dealer, Midas, Mineke.... etc????
Any other recos would be appreciated.

Thanks
Old 02-22-2014, 02:18 PM
Allen_B
Burning Brakes

Received 256 Likes on 144 Posts

Pretty easy to do yourself as long as you can get the car in the air. The job is doable with jack stands or quality ramps but much easier on a lift. I am no mechanic and installed mine in about 2 hours including BS'ing. One time saver for me was I used a Sawzall and cut the pipes of the OEM axle-back right where they mated to the mid-pipes to make the removal easier.

For an experienced shop like a Midas (assuming they would do it) it shouldn't take more than a hour. Problem with many shops is they won't install anything they didn't sell due to our insanely litigious society.

Only "issue" I had installing myself was I was over-cautious about leaving a gap between the muffler and suspension. If it is too close (there is a lot of play/room for adjustment) it will cause a rattle. In my case, the tips stick out too far now for my taste. Also, I was so focused on ensuring the tips were level that I failed to notice the left side sticks out a little farther than the right; my OCD is really getting the better of me so I will put it up on a lift when the weather warms up and make a few adjustments...

/r

Allen
Old 02-22-2014, 03:02 PM
ncvette_1FUNRIDE
Tech Contributor
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 260 Likes on 221 Posts
2015 C6 of the Year Finalist