C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

TKO Paint Protection Film

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2012, 05:08 PM
MisterMidlifeCrisis
Drifting

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Default TKO Paint Protection Film

Ed at TKO picked me to be one of the product testers for the paint protection film, as mentioned in this thread:

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c6-c...ction-kit.html

Ed explained that this is a Clear-tastic product and is one of their higher end products. I have no prior experience applying protection films other than doing the headlights of several vehicles I own with the WeatherTech LampGard films, which are several orders thicker. This product is designed to protect the horizontal surfaces on the front of the nose only, and is designed to be an easy do-it-yourself product.

In this first product, it is designed to fit a base C6 coupe. Mines is a 2011 that I took delivery of on March 2nd. It now has 9400 miles and has had no paint protection, other than Rejex sealant.

Ed sent the film to me, and it arrived on a big backing sheet. There are three pieces.

One piece covers the nose above the grille opening, from approximately 3/4" inside the corner marker lights all the way across the more horizontal part of the nose. There are two flaps of material that hang down and cover the part of the paint that is to the inside of the foglight and curves towards the engine to meet the recessed grill. The top part of this piece ends just below the crease in the nose, and the bottom ends just above the grille opening.