C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Inside hood tear???

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2011, 03:02 PM
c6wantedNOW
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Inside hood tear???

So I took my Corvette out of winter storage today. I had the hood down, but not closed in order to allow the battery tender's wires through. I open the hood, and below is what I found (see pic 2). Now I'm not saying that this is because of the Winter Storage...I guess it could have been there for awhile and I haven't noticed it...but any of you had something like this before? Could it have been animals biting the clothes?

In addition, at the risk of sounding like a complete moron, I found what looks like dirt on that metal piece of machinery (see third pic). So my question is, what is that, and is it supposed to be that dirty? If not, how can I effectively clean it? I'm not a mechanic...sorry if this is a noob question.

Appreciate all your expert's help!

Old 05-22-2011, 03:05 PM
not08crmanymore
Team Owner

Received 138 Likes on 119 Posts

Animals.I store mine too and don't see this stuff on mine. Dirt could actually be mouse crap or something.
Old 05-22-2011, 03:10 PM
ub2slow2

yeah something has been living in there and chewing up your cloth and that dirt is the oil from their bodies and or crap. Check all your wires good and make sure they didn't have a meal with those too.
Old 05-22-2011, 03:21 PM
R&L's C6
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,254 Likes on 708 Posts

My guess is mice. Looks like the damaged spots line up with the top of the radiator and alternator. Spots close enough for them to sit and chew on the top. Little bastards.
Old 05-22-2011, 03:23 PM
c6wantedNOW
Intermediate

Damn...really? Any idea on how I can prevent this from happening again? I followed all the ways to winter store by putting laundry softener sheets in my muffler and etc.