C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 ZP and Eagle F1s Compared at Spring Mountain

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2009, 12:57 PM
AREA-Z51
Navigator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 ZP and Eagle F1s Compared at Spring Mountain

Hey all. Last week I got the amazing chance to drive C6s (both base and Z06) at Ron Fellow's driving school at Spring Mountain as part of a Michelin-sponsored tire test. Michelin was demonstrating its new-ish Pilot Sport PS2 ZP run-flat tires. It was a pretty cool event as I got to drive Vettes back-to-back that were fitted with the stock Goodyear Eagle F1 Supercar EMTs and then with the PS2 ZPs.

I was invited to the event because, well, I'm an automotive journalist for Edmunds.com. You can read my official coverage here.

Of course, it was particularly cool to go to this event since I own a 2008 C6 coupe.

If you don't want to read my whole Edmunds writeup, here's a recap. But first, two notes: 1) These are just my subjective opinions as there was no instrumented testing performed; 2) This was a Michelin event, so of course they designed it to put their tires in the best light.
  • Basic dry-pavement grip is pretty similar for the stock F1 Supercar EMTs and the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 ZPs. The ZPs probably have a bit of an edge here.
  • Wet pavement traction (cornering and braking) is significantly better with the PS2 ZPs than it is with the F1s.
  • For me, the most helpful improvement is the better road feel and at-the-limit adhesion that the ZPs provide as compared to the F1s. On the street, this isn't a significant issue, but if you're on a racetrack (or you're driving really aggressively on a canyon road), having the Michelins provides gives you more confidence about what the car is doing.