C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Interesting find about our O.E. run flat tires.......to say the least...

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2009, 06:53 PM
wolfdogs
Le Mans Master

Location: Stafford VA, home of our wolf den. No house break ins to date.
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Interesting find about our O.E. run flat tires.......to say the least...

Some of you know, I was a tire engineer with the U.S. Govt. prior to my retirement. I ran the Federal Tire Qualification Program for 13 years, and worked side by side with the NHTSA manager of UTQG..comparing numbers and data.... (this just for clarification...not "patting myself on the back")

Anyway, when I retired, the Govt. let a few of my instruments go with me.. one, a Shore A durometer.. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shore_durometer

This is mine, not cheap mind you...Uncle Sam paid for it though (I know..your tax dollar at work.. )

This particular model measures rubber hardness of tires...which.. as a tester, we can tell a lot during a tire test with whats going on, not only inside the tire with mileage, but also the compound itself.. by measuring the hardness every 4k miles over a 20k tire test at 100% load.

Even though I only have 3900 miles on my 08 C6 Coupe... I have noticed that these tires tend to spin pretty easy.....granted we have lots of power, but having muscle cars since 67...some with more power than this, I started wondering about these tires. I also was able to break them loose slightly in a tight cornering situation a couple of times... which surprised me.

So tonight, I dug out my ol trust worth buddy, and heres what I found, at only 3900 miles: