C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Out of State Registration and Title for new Corvette

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2007, 08:52 PM
MalaysianMenace
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Out of State Registration and Title for new Corvette

I'm a Washington state resident and recently purchased my new 2008 Corvette from California.

As I understand, new cars can be released from dealerships with a bill of origin and a release of interest forms completed. Instead, what happened to me was the dealership I purchased from registered and titled my car in California, charging me $400.

When I got back to Washington state, I received California plates in the mail with tabs good for a year. By WA law, I needed to register my car with WA. This costed me another $250; but worse yet - the vehicle can only be registered as used as it had already been titled in CA.

I'm thinking of complaining to the CA dealership for incorrect information on their part. I'm thinking I have a decent lawsuit case against them.

Does anyone have similar experiences?
Old 12-31-2007, 09:18 PM
nmerhaut
Melting Slicks

Received 75 Likes on 62 Posts

Before you consider suing, try talking to the dealership or owner and document everything that was said. What do you have in writing? If you sue you might have to find a CA. lawyer. Always an expensive deal when you sue. Crummy situation but try to resolve on your own first. My 2 cents/
Old 12-31-2007, 09:20 PM
HummelS
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Did you purchase the car there or have it drop-shipped from CA to your home? Sounds like a back-office screw-up to me. I'd give them a call & get it straightened out. (btw, the $400 might be their normal "doc fee" - it's not uncommon.)

I don't think it's lawyer time yet, based on what you posted.
Old 12-31-2007, 09:31 PM
MalaysianMenace
Instructor