Sponsored by:

[Z06] Advice on the use of fuel injector cleaner

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2004, 02:41 PM
Trebor
Drifting

Received 256 Likes on 157 Posts

Default Advice on the use of fuel injector cleaner

I've only owned my '02 for 2 weeks so I am still learning. It still has low miles on it (3000) and probably does not need it now, but what is the consensus about using fuel injector cleaner on these cars? I like Chevron's Techtron. I owned an L98 (1987) before the Z and although I used the cleaner, I heard that Chevrolet recommended against it because the injectors had a pindle design.

Thanks,

trebor
Old 09-09-2004, 07:11 PM
ErnieN85
Safety Car

Received 266 Likes on 223 Posts

Generally it's a good idea to do now & then. either techron or Redline. Both are detergent based and not solvents. the biggest problem reported (so far) is that high sulpher content gas can caues a build up on the fuel level sensor and also seems to gum up the jet transfer pump (tank to tank).
Old 09-09-2004, 07:27 PM
Cobra4B
Team Owner

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
CI 3-5-6-7-8 Veteran

I usually run a bottle through whenever I change my oil (roughly every 6000-7000 miles)
Old 09-11-2004, 02:33 PM
C66 Racing
Premium Supporting Vendor

Received 35 Likes on 25 Posts

AMSOIL makes a good fuel injector cleaner. Comes in a 16 oz bottle. AMSOIL recommends an initial dose of 6 oz for 10 gallons, then 1 oz per 10 gallon treatments.
I usually run a bottle through my vehicles periodically.

Here is the product brochure:
AMSOIL Performance Improver

C66 Racing #66 NASA ST2, SCCA T2
AMSOIL Dealer (Forum Vendor)
AMSOIL Ordering Information (Retail sales using reference #1206638 benefit the forum.)
AMSOIL Preferred Customer Program (Members buy at Wholesale - a savings of about 25%)
AMSOIL Catalog

Old 09-11-2004, 03:50 PM
Cruncher
Burning Brakes