[Z06] Please help: Valve Spring replacement Guide or How To

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2014, 11:32 AM
BoostFreek
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Please help: Valve Spring replacement Guide or How To

Hello Everyone

I am planning on swapping out my valve springs after reading all the stories. I have an 02 Z and am doing this as preventative maintenance.

This is my first time tackling a job like this and am looking for a Guide or How To. I came up empty while searching and figured I'd try posting.

I work better when I can follow something along to the T so that I don't miss anything or screw it up.

If anyone can link me a Guide or How To I would really appreciate it. Anything that will step by step walk me through the process.

Thanks in advance for the assistance.

Nick
Old 03-28-2014, 01:07 PM
MY03C5Z
Race Director

Received 195 Likes on 148 Posts

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c5-t...nt-w-pics.html

Found this in a search under c5 tech. Its got a link to two good how to guides.
Old 03-28-2014, 01:33 PM
Sigforty
Le Mans Master

Received 275 Likes on 232 Posts
Cruise-In IX Veteran

What stories did you read? How many miles are on the existing springs? Do you have any performance upgrades? What springs do you plan on using as replacements?
Old 03-28-2014, 02:46 PM
BoostFreek
Intermediate

Thanks MY03C5Z for the link.

Sigforty, I read about valve spring failures from 02-03 due to bad spring suppliers. I dont want to worry about it so I figured I would just replace mine. car and springs have 37k miles on them. I only have a vararam intake at the moment and will be installing headers in the near future. I am still debating on which springs to go with. I looked at some of the PAC's as well as the OEM replacement. I like the idea of a dual spring but have heard they can cause premature wear on stock cam. or something to that effect.

Any recommendations?
Old 03-28-2014, 05:10 PM
MY03C5Z
Race Director