Notices
C5 General General C5 Corvette and C5 Z06 Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

[Z06] Speed up shifting? Anti-venom mod or something else?

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2013, 12:09 AM
K-n
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Speed up shifting? Anti-venom mod or something else?

I'd like to speed up my shift between gears. I'm new to the Z06, but not manual transmissions... When I shift from one gear to the next quickly I'm stopped momentarily before it will go to the next gear. It's almost As if I'm waiting on the Syncro to catch up. My car has a complete C6 shifter assembly installed by the previous owner. I read about the anti-venom mod but I don't see anything about improving speed – just ease of shifting.

Any suggestions on making the gear shift move quickly and precisely between Gears?
Old 07-07-2013, 06:41 AM
Tuscany
Racer

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts

There should be no hesitation in shifting gears. The anti-venom mod won't speed things up. I presume CAGS isn't the issue, as symptoms should be different than described. I wonder if the shifter is slightly out of alignment or even slightly loose on its box. Or maybe the clutch isn't fully disengaging.

I'm making barely educated guesses based on what I've learned on CF, but there are some really impressive experts here who may be able to offer more experienced diagnoses.
Old 07-07-2013, 10:41 AM
K-n
Instructor

Let me see if I can describe it in more detail: