Notices
C5 General General C5 Corvette and C5 Z06 Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

[Z06] I can't believe how easy it is to change brake pads!

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2012, 09:05 PM
weneversleep
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default I can't believe how easy it is to change brake pads!

I just got my C5 Z06 a couple of weeks ago. I'm taking it to the track this weekend, and even though my brake pads haven't come in yet, I wanted to do a "dry run" of changing the brakes, so I won't be fumbling around at the track (if necessary).

I can't believe how easy it is to change pads on this car! One single bolt and the entire caliper rotates up. Pads come right out. Easy to compress the pistons.

I only did the front, but I assume the rears are the same.

Now, I'm not a mechanic, but I've changed brake pads on an S2000, E36 M3, and an Evo X. I thought the Brembo fixed calipers were easy, but you still had to put grease on the pad ears, which added a lot of time. Plus, getting the pad spring in while inserting the pins was a bit of a challenge, even after a lot of practice. Hey, I said I wasn't a mechanic!

I can tell I'm going to love this car...
Old 06-06-2012, 11:14 PM
vms4evr
Melting Slicks

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The rears don't swing, you need to remove both bolts and pull the caliper back. Still very easy. The back is a single piston in the caliper.
Old 06-07-2012, 06:31 PM
Omaha02Z06
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by weneversleep
I thought the Brembo fixed calipers were easy, but you still had to put grease on the pad ears, which added a lot of time. Plus, getting the pad spring in while inserting the pins was a bit of a challenge, even after a lot of practice.