Notices
C5 General General C5 Corvette and C5 Z06 Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

[Z06] Nitto NT555 RII Extreme street/track wear results inside...

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2012, 07:33 PM
JeremyGSU
Drifting

Received 32 Likes on 28 Posts

Default Nitto NT555 RII Extreme street/track wear results inside...

Well, I bought my first Z at the end of October and immediately threw some Nitto NT555 RII's on with the intent to track the car as a street / track car. I'm an instructor with Chin and so far I've done two days at Road Atlanta and 4 days at Sebring. I've been very impressed with these tires considering I just drive to the track with them. I think I've been able to run around 2:25's at Sebring with them and my car is just lowered on bolts with Bilstein shocks so these tires are impressive for a drive to event tire. They really grip well and are very predictable and fit the oem rims nicely.

I will say that they are pretty scary in the rain, even when new, and had it rained the last day I went I would have been in trouble as it was raining on the way down and I was already hydroplanning.

With that said I got 6 track days out of them and I obtained 3,435 total miles. I think those results are pretty good all considering the grip amount and the number of days.

The fronts still look GREAT. I can't believe how little they are worn considering how much abuse I have put them through.

The backs however are completely shot. I even had them swapped before the last two days left to right to help with the wear.

I'll have a new set of rears put on before the next event but the fronts look like they will last some time yet.

The rears would be shot because of all the slip angle.

I'm planning on getting the Johnny O'Connell setup soon so that should help with some more even tire wear.

Anyhow, very happy with these. Too bad they quit making them.

Just thought I would share my results.

Jeremy
Old 05-06-2012, 09:16 PM
doveboat
Drifting