C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hurst Shifter...

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2004, 05:05 PM
-+Colvette+-
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hurst Shifter...

Hey, guys,

I've ordered a Hurst Short Shifter for my vette - are there any instructions on line as to how to fit this to my car? I've never done anything like this myself before!

Also - how do I set it up regarding firmness of throws etc.?

Thanks!
Old 07-09-2004, 11:47 AM
IFLUBYU
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I can't believe no one has replied on this yet for you, so here is a bump. I had mine put in when I had my tranny replaced. I watched, but you only remember so much when you watch. Center Console out, Center instrument panel cover off, pry the shift patern plate off the top of the shift ****. Remove spreader pins (tough!), remove shift ****. Then you should be able to swing the center instrument panel cover off with the shifter boot. , and the shifter is right there with a rubber boot around it. I think mine was flipped and trimmed to fit the hurst. That is as much as I saw, I know there was some adjustments, and we went with the softer springs. I should come with two sets of springs, I think you can use one, the other or both together.

This probably isn't as detailed info as you need, hopefully someone who has done a couple of these will chime in.
Old 07-09-2004, 12:07 PM
TorchedTexan
Pro

This is what you are looking for. It was created by forum member Patches.
http://temp.corvetteforum.net/c5/pat...rInstall.shtml
Old 07-09-2004, 02:11 PM
1 BAD C5
Melting Slicks

I wound up removing the front and back stops on the shifter to keep it from vibrating at higher rpm's.
Old 07-09-2004, 05:10 PM
-+Colvette+-
Advanced

Thanks, you guys! Actually looks pretty straight forward!
Old 07-09-2004, 09:03 PM
bletour2001
Instructor