C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

For all you people that switched to non-runflat tires...and think they're great

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2003, 07:18 PM
dizwiz24
Race Director

Received 564 Likes on 439 Posts

Default For all you people that switched to non-runflat tires...and think they're great

I just wanted to make a point here. I used to be an engineer at Goodyear. While I did not specifically design Corvette C5 tires, I have seen a lot of their test data on C5 tires.

This might surprise you, but there is no difference in traction between a Goodyear run-flat Eagle F1 and a non run-flat Goodyear Eagle F1. This was in a test with the same tread compounds, construction, size, etc. Maybe there are other brands out there that are better, but run-flat vs. non run-flat I saw no difference in the dry or wet trailer traction braking test....To my surprise.

I keep seeing these comments like, "I replaced my run-flats with non run-flats, and it rides so much better" Thats like posting, 'I looked out to the east and noticed the sun rises every morning' GM designed your cars suspension softer to account for the added stiffness of the runflat tires inserts. By going to any other non-run flat tire (except maybe the BFG g-force series which has its own insert for cornering stiffness), you have effectively softened your suspension. I cant imagine you get as good, darty steering response with non run-flat tires (unless they have cornering inserts like the BFG's).