C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Maintenance to do while intake is off?

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2020, 03:00 PM
Agentlongwood
Intermediate

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Maintenance to do while intake is off?

I have a 2000 Coupe 6 speed. Currently the oil pressure gauge just sits fully pegged, as high as it will go. The reading in the DIC stays at 130. From what I gather, this is the oil pressure sensor, which requires pulling the intake manifold. Debating if I want to pick up an LS6 intake manifold if I have to pull the old one anyway... But while I have it off, is there other stuff that I should do while I'm in there? New intake manifold gaskets for sure. New knock sensors? Or just the seals for them? Pop the injectors off and clean them? Is that even a thing people do? In case it's not clear, I'm pretty new to Corvettes and LS motors in general, lol. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks yall.
Old 05-11-2020, 03:37 PM
Pounder
1/4 mile/AutoX
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,082 Likes on 1,635 Posts

if it's running good leave the injectors alone, I would re-locate the oil sender and add a steam line conversion kit, eliminate the throttle body coolant lines, (https://www.summitracing.com/parts/tfs-306sb601) plugs and wires ???
Old 05-11-2020, 03:59 PM
k24556
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 205 Likes on 171 Posts

more suggestions

change the pcv system to the 2004 version you will need a new valley cover, a pigtail hose and a plug for the driver side valve cover

Clean the oil that will be in the intake runners

​​​​​​​be careful of the vacuum connections at the back of the intake. The little plastic hose going to the vacuum accumulator can crack easily,or pull out of the rubber fitting.