C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

243 heads on 98 ls1

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2014, 12:45 AM
Jeredk21
Pro

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Default 243 heads on 98 ls1

I am looking at buying some 243 heads for my ls1. I am still learning my engine. Is there a difference from the z06 243 heads and the ones off of the ls2. I found a set from an ls2 I was gonna buy. Also can I just bolt them on? Or is there other changes that need to be made too. Next I will be looking at moving to headers and swapping a cam.
Old 06-12-2014, 01:01 AM
IRON MAIDEN
Melting Slicks

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

Same heads. 243/799 castings. But the LS6(Z06) had hollow intake and sodium filled exhaust valves. Believe that is the valve arrangement. Either way, they had lighter valves. I went with a set of 243 heads off an 08' 5.3L truck engine. Sent them to Advanced Induction for their cnc magic.
Get the set off the LS2.
Old 06-12-2014, 09:18 AM
NukeC5
Melting Slicks

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Direct swap, but you will need the valve covers too, yours has perimeter bolts I think, and you need the center bolt.

LS6 heads are better if you can get them for a good price. If not, LS2 heads are great too. You can also get 799 heads which are the same as 234 heads.
Old 06-12-2014, 03:32 PM
IRON MAIDEN
Melting Slicks

Originally Posted by NukeC5
Direct swap, but you will need the valve covers too, yours has perimeter bolts I think, and you need the center bolt.

LS6 heads are better if you can get them for a good price. If not, LS2 heads are great too. You can also get 799 heads which are the same as 234 heads.
Better from the factory only due to the light weight valves and better springs. The castings are the same. If you plan to bolt it on as is from the factory, the LS6(Z06) version is by far the best as NukeC5 said.