C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Parasitic draw narrowed. Please help?

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2014, 08:22 PM
Only vette
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Parasitic draw narrowed. Please help?

Hi, this is my first post in this site. Such awesome people in here I'm excited. So, I'm a scientist. I'm not a mechanic or electrician; I deal with lab work. But I'm trying to learn how to fix my own corvette! So please use small words... I can follow outlined instructions very well even if I don't know what's it's doing :-)

1997 corvette.
Stock. No additions!
Totalled before and I suspect the body shop messed it up on repair. Hes a jerk and refuses to help me; others (electricians) will charge me 1000+. Mechanics tell me they're not interested since it was totalled. When I was wrecked, a wire cut through the right hood up until 2 feet before the battery. It just messed up the front right but didn't touch the computer under the battery. So I have to figure it out.

About a year ago, the battery started running dead. It became more frequent until now it runs dead in 3 hours in the bitter cold; 20 h in the warm weather. No, I don't have a garage. Moving on. I had all the tests done that regular mechanics could do. The alternator was tested, I bought a new battery, and had checked all things like hood light, mirror lights, trunk light, brake lights, every light! I had to learn all about alternators; I didn't even know the name before. I'm learning . I educated myself on parasitic draws and I tested it with a multimeter between the negative battery post and the negative lead. I tested it on amps, not milliamps, because that's the examples I watched online. Also, I'm afraid if I insert the red multimeter cable into the "V(ohm)mA" it'll hurt something. Anyway, I made sure of the following:
1. Charged battery