C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Roll bar and Sparco seats fab/install. PICS!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2013, 10:17 PM
kawizzr14
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Roll bar and Sparco seats fab/install. PICS!!

Hey folks here is my first project thread! I am rather new to the Corvette world but I have always had a thing for go-fast toys, mods and horsepower. I bought my car a couple years ago now and I have been slowly modding her out. I have been surfing this forum and been able to use a ton of great info from you all and now I thought I'd pass along some of the stuff I have been working on.

A little background:
I have always been a hands on DIY kind of guy and I work with metal for a living so I have some good experience. Plus, as I stated before I love modding stuff. I spent a good chunk of time helping a friend of mine fab up a roll cage for his formula drift car and after a little coaxing from him to manufacture my own rather than buy one I decided to make one for my C5!

I researched this thing to death and finally figured out the design and logistics of how I would do this. I knew it would be a bit tedious but I was ready to make the plunge and buy the material. After having completed most of the hard part I know there are about 846 things I would probably do differently to make things go smoother and a little faster but the patience will pay off in the end I am sure! I think my bill so far for the entire roll bar project is about 200 bucks. Not too shabby.

So here are a few pics of the project. Enjoy and feel free to ask any questions!