C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Right front wheel bearing going bad

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2012, 09:52 PM
DansBlkonBlkZ06
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Right front wheel bearing going bad

I was having a vibration during hard braking at a track day. The right front wheel bearing is shot. I bought the TimKen replacement at AutoZone. The AutoZone guy said I should replace both fronts. The left front (original stock) still feels good. Should I spend the extra money and swap out the left front too?
Old 11-19-2012, 01:35 AM
mighty mousd
Instructor

I didn't and that was over 75k ago. I spend where I have to.
Old 11-20-2012, 03:06 PM
2kbluestreak
Burning Brakes

I'm a bearing engineer and get paid enough to consider myself an expert. Identical bearings in a system do not fail at the same time given equal loads and speeds. They have a life dispersion. You should not have to replace the other side. On the other hand, the bearings are capable of a longer life than the grease that lubricates them. Time at high temperatures is what reduces the life of grease. If your C5 was tracked a lot on a road course, both front bearings and grease will have seen some high temps. Unfortunately, you cannot clean out and re-pack these bearings. If the other side starts making noise, replace it.
Old 11-21-2012, 01:29 PM
Deanos/2004/C5
Heel & Toe