C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Overdrive kicking in and out??? HELP!!!

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2010, 11:38 PM
Rohan
Burning Brakes

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 23 Likes on 15 Posts

Default Overdrive kicking in and out??? HELP!!!

Ok, I have been stationed in Louisiana and I decided to bring my Corvette over here with me. I have been driving on these HORRIBLE roads for about 3 months. Now all the sudden I have noticed that when I go over really bumpy parts of the road, the overdrive will suddenly go out and my RPMs shoot up by a few hundred then it will kick back in and the RPMs drop again. Sometimes it will do this on and off really quickly and sometimes the OD will just go out and stay out until I slow waaayyy down or stop and then it will work again when I get back up to speed like it's supposed to. I usually run about 2000 RPM at 75 - 80 mph but when the OD isn't working properly I run about 2000 RPM at only 60 mph. It's getting frustrating. I never had a problem before I moved over here where the roads are ridiculous. Oh another thing... When this happens I noticed that the Cruise Control won't engage but when the OD is working then the Cruise Control works fine. ANY IDEAS?
Old 04-02-2010, 10:31 AM
1badf350
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

DUDE!!! I had this exact same problem the whole first 6 months I owned my car. I can tell you with 100% confidence that the problem is the brake pedal switches needing adjustment.
Think about it. When the brake switches sense that you have applied the brake, what do they do do? Besides illuminating the brake lights they unlock the torque converter, which is why you see the slight revs in RPM. They also disengage the cruise control.